Saturday - early
There is one thing that saved me: There was no oncoming traffic in the opposite heading lanes.
Approaching a certain intersection that is usually never that busy and is a interchange between the Interstate and a state highway is something you take cautiously. There are a lot of accidents there for a few reasons. People in a hurry is one of them.
Turns some distance approaching the bridge makes it necessary for traffic coming off of the interstate to stop and really look both ways - which people apparently don't do often-time.
The bridge is also perched up high and you really can't see the other side of it until you are up on it.
The speed limit is 60 mph, there are no lights there, just stop signs for the Interstate traffic getting off of the Interstate.
I am approaching this thing yesterday morning. I'm watching - rather intently. It's dark, good visibility tho, there's those lights on those very tall poles - like 150 feet high? on both sides.
A vehicle pulls out as I'm approaching, I'm in the right lane, they get into the passing lane. This happens alot, I don't like it but it's not inherently dangerous so long as that other driver STAYS in that lane.
Then a Penske truck pulls up. I'm too close for it to pull out so, tho I'm watching it, I'm thinking: surely this person isn't that stupid as to pull out of there now.
I thought wrong. This driver not only pulled out - the other side of the freeway turning left into my lanes - but he didn't turn, he was going straight across.
All I see was a big box, this was a 28 footer - with the words Penske on it. There's a lot of thoughts that go through your head when you think you're going to die.
It goes through your head quickly, almost instantaneously. Like a computer type of speed. What a way to go out of this life. Can I somehow get out of this? What can I do? The only option to salvage this was to dive that tractor trailer rig into oncoming traffic lanes and hope beyond all hope that he clears it fast enough.
Yup, I was clear over the other side of the highway, this dumb@$$ realizes his stupidity and guns it and fortunately, that truck had enough get up and go to get out of my way just in the nick of time. If there had been any traffic coming, I wouldn't be sitting here right now typing this. I would either be in a hospital or I would be dead. I wouldn't have smashed head on into oncoming traffic, that's not fair to those people who have nothing to do with this and also, a T bone is bad but not as bad as a head on collision.
Although nothing that bad happened after that yesterday, driving was insanity. I don't know if it's a Friday type of mentality or what, but there was so much risk tasking and ridiculous moves people were engaging in, I just wanted to go back to the yard park the truck and go home.
I didn't, of course. I loaded the truck and went back to the yard and right now, about to leave for work.
G'day